Physician Information

Authorization


How To Become Authorized to Order Medical Cannabis in Florida 

Medical cannabis products that are legal for use by patients in Florida must be ordered by a qualified physician and dispensed by CHT Medical or one of the other authorized dispensing organizations within the state. Physicians may order either non-euphoric, low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis, which contains the psychoactive ingredient THC in any strength, depending on the patient’s qualifying medical condition. Physicians may also order cannabis delivery devices as appropriate for their patients. Cannabis delivery devices are devices used in preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis into the human body. A physician is authorized to order low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis only if the physician:

  1. Holds an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes, or an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, Florida Statutes.
  2. Has successfully completed the Florida Medical Association educational course and examination on medical cannabis. The course and examination must be successfully completed each time the physician renews his or her medical license. 

The CME course provides 8-hours of continuing medical education (CME) credit and can be found below. Physicians who have completed this requirement are listed at the link to the left:

Information


Physician Requirements for Ordering Low-THC or Medical Cannabis for Patients

An authorized physician may order low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis only if the physician: 

  1. Has treated the patient for at least three months immediately preceding the patient’s registration in the Compassionate Use Registry.

  2. Has determined that the risks of treating the patient with low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis are reasonable in light of the potential benefit to the patient. If a patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with this determination, and such determination must be documented in the patient’s medical record.

  3. Registers as the orderer of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis for the named patient on the Compassionate Use Registry and updates the registry to reflect the contents of the order, including the amount of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis that will provide the patient with not more than a 45-day supply and any cannabis delivery device needed by the patient for the medical use of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis. The physician must also update the registry within seven days after any change is made to the original order to reflect the change. The physician shall deactivate the registration of the patient and the patient’s legal representative when treatment is discontinued.

  4. Maintains a patient treatment plan that includes the dose, route of administration, planned duration and monitoring of the patient’s symptoms and other indicators of tolerance or reaction to the low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis.

  5. Submits the patient treatment plan quarterly to the University of Florida College of Pharmacy for research on the safety and efficacy of low-THC cannabis and medical cannabis.

  6. Obtains the voluntary, written informed consent of the patient or the patient’s legal representative/guardian to treatment with low-THC cannabis.

  7. Obtains written, informed consent as defined in and required under section 499.0295, Florida Statutes, if the physician is ordering medical cannabis or low-THC cannabis for an eligible patient pursuant to that section.

  8. A physician ordering medical cannabis or low-THC cannabis may not be a medical director employed by a dispensing organization.

Eligible Patients

In order to be qualified to use low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis, a patient must meet certain criteria, including the following:  

  1. A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.

    • Low-THC Cannabis

      • Cancer

      • Seizures

      • Severe and persistant muscle spasms

    • Medical Cannabis
      • Terminal Condition
  2. A patient must be a Florida resident
  3. A patient must have been treated by the ordering physician for the immediately preceding three months prior to the order.

  4. If under the age of 18 years, a patient must have a second physician agree to the use of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis in order to obtain an order from a qualified physician. This must be documented in the patient’s medical record.

  5. No other satisfactory alternative treatment options may exist for the patient.

  6. An ordering physician must determine the risks of using medical cannabis therapy are reasonable in light of the benefit to the patient.

  7. A patient (or the patient’s legal representative) must provide voluntary, informed consent to treatment with low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis.

  8. A patient must be registered in the Compassionate Use Registry by an authorized ordering physician.

How to order low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis for your patients

Upon successful completion of the Medical Cannabis CME course offered by the Florida Medical Association (FMA), physicians will be able to request web-based access to the Compassionate Use Registry to register specific patients and input their orders. If low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis has been deemed suitable for a patient, the physician will register the patient and, if needed, his or her legal representative(s) online in the Compassionate Use Registry. Subsequently, the physician will enter the patient’s order for low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis in the Registry by specifying the active ingredient, dose ordered, number of doses per day, and duration of therapy. Each order is limited to a 45-day supply. Once the order is successfully uploaded into the Compassionate Use Registry, the patient now has access to his or her treatment through an authorized dispensing organization, such as CHT Medical.

This information that is entered in the Compassionate Use Registry is private and secure. This information will only be available to licensed physicians, authorized medical cannabis dispensing organizations in Florida, approved representatives within the Florida Department of Health or those authorized by the Department, and law enforcement agents.

[link to physician user guide or OCU website section when posted – expected by next week]

How to instruct patients to get their low-THC or medical cannabis product

Once the order has been added to the Compassionate Use Registry by the ordering physician, the patient is now ready to fill his or her order at an authorized dispensary.

A patient may fill his or her order for low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis at any dispensing facility operated by an authorized Florida dispensing organization. Talk with your patient about which product is right for them and which dispensing organization offers the best product for their needs. See what CHT Medical has to offer:

Dispensaries

CHT Medical anticipates that our products will be available to patients in local dispensaries throughout Florida by the fourth quarter of 2016. CHT Medical will also offer home delivery service for the convenience of patients. Stay tuned for more information…

CHT Medical Dispensaries are located in cities statewide, and can be found with our:

Completing an order

When arriving at the dispensary, the patient or legal representative who is authorized to pick up the medical cannabis product is required to provide a valid form of identification.. The dispensing organization will verify the identity of the patient or legal representative and confirm the order in the Compassionate Use Registry. A dispensing organization is able to dispense only what the physician ordered for the patient (as reflected in the Compassionate Use Registry) and cannot provide more than a 45-day supply.

Monitoring Patients

Any changes to orders or new orders must be entered in the Compassionate Use Registry. The ordering physician must maintain a patient treatment plan related to medical cannabis.  The ordering physician must monitor the patient’s response to therapy and submit updates to the patient treatment plan every quarter to the University of Florida College of Pharmacy for research purposes. Link can be found to the left. 

Appropriate Use of Low-THC Cannabis and Medical Cannabis

CHT Medical will counsel each patient to use low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis as directed by his or her ordering physician.  The medical use of low-THC cannabis and medical cannabis that is legal in Florida does NOT include the following:

  • Possession, use, or administration of cannabis products by smoking. 

  • Transfer of medical cannabis products to a person other than the qualified patient for whom it was ordered.

  • Use of any medical cannabis products on any form of public transportation, in any public place, in a qualified patient’s place of employment if restricted by his or her employer, in a state correctional institution, on the grounds of a preschool, primary school, or secondary school, or in any school bus or vehicle.

How May We Help You?

To be contacted by a CHT Medical Professional Representative, please provide us with your information (name, phone, email, address, message). We would be happy to answer any questions you have on medical cannabis or CHT Medical, and look forward to working with you to advance knowledge of medical cannabis throughout the state: